Curriculum For Wales

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales. There is a new Curriculum in Wales that will enthuse learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundation they need to succeed in a changing world.

In order to address these challenges, the Welsh Government wants to make sure that
every child has the knowledge, skills and experiences they will need.

At the heart of the curriculum are the four purposes, which give every child and young person the opportunity to develop into:

  • ambitious, capable learners who are ready to learn throughout their lives;
  • enterprising, creative contributors who are ready to play their full part in their life and work;
  • principled, informed citizens who are ready to be citizens in Wales and the world;
  • healthy, confident individuals who are ready to live life realizing their aspirations as valuable members of society.

The Curriculum for Wales will include:

6 Areas of Learning and Experience 3-16

3 cross-curricular responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence

progression stages at age 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16

achievement outcomes which describe expected successes at each progression stage.

The curriculum will be organized into 6 Learning and Experience Areas:

Expressive arts

Health and well being

Humanities (including Religious Education which should remain compulsory until age 16)

Languages, literacy and communication (including modern foreign languages ​​in Wales, which should remain compulsory until age 16,)

Mathematics and numeracy

Science and technology (including computer science).

For more information, click on the links below:

A guide to the new curriculum for Wales

Ysgol Abergwili Curriculum Statement